Back to all yachts


International RuleFirst Rule
Current Statusship wrecked off the Swedish coast
DesignerAnker & Jensen
Design / Project#118
BuilderAnker & Jensen
Length Overall14.78 m. (not homogeneous measurement)
Waterline11.96 m.
Beam3.38 m.
Sail Area267 sq.m. - 263 sq.m. (1920) - 191 sq.m. (1951)
Constructionwood on steel frames
Original OwnerAlfred W.G. Larsen
Original NameMAGDA IX
Other NamesMoyana II (1920) - Liss V (1928) - Moyana (1935) - Moyana II (1951)
Original CountryNO
Original HomeportChristiania, Oslo
Owner Details & History

Built according to the International First Rule.

1912 - 1915 Alfred W.G. Larsen - name Magda IX - home port: Christiania, Oslo (Norway). Magda was Larsen's wife. He was one of the most outstanding Norwegian owners and sailors. He used to have his boats designed by Fife but due to the results of Rollo in the 1911 season, he decided to desert Fife and asked Anker to design his Olympic boat. The choice was a winning one as Magda IX, having Anker as 'sailing master' on board, won the 1912 Stockholm Olympic Game winning two races out of three on Erna Signe and Heatherbell (under Finnish flag). In the same year she lost against Erna Signe at the Kiel Woche.

1916 - 1918 ?

1919 - 1926 Ludvig Wiese - new name: Moyana II - home port: Fredrikstad (Norway). In 1920 altered to Bermudan cutter - sail area reduced to 263 sq.m. - registered in Lloyd's Register from 1925 as 'formerly Int. Rating class 12 Metre".

1927 - 1933 J. Christensen - from 1928 new name: Liss V - home port: Drammen (Norway).

1934 ?

1935 - 1947 Josef Larsen - new name: Moyana - home port: Fredrikstad (Norway).

1948 ?

1949 - 1953 Peder Larsen - new name: Moyana II - home port: Fredrikstad (Norway).

1954 Disappeared from the Lloyd's Register. Shiprecked off the Swedish Coast in the summer 1951.

All rights reserved. No part of this Register may be reproduced in any form by any graphic, electronic or mechanical means, including photocopies, nor can any registration of information within be recorded, without the written authorization of the authors Wm. H. Dyer Jones and Luigi Lang.