Back to all yachts


Year1986 February
Current Sail NumberUS 56
International RuleThird Rule AC
Current Statussailing, very good
Current LocationSt. Maarten, (Netherlands Antilles)
Current CountryMF
DesignerB. Chance Jr., B. Nelson, D. Pedrick
BuilderRobert E. Derecktor, Inc.
Length Overall20.24 m.
Beam3.68 m.
Original OwnerSail America Foundation
Original NameSTARS & STRIPES ?86
Original CountryUS
Original HomeportSan Diego, CA
Original Sail NumberUS 56
Owner Details & History

Built according to the International Third Rule America's Cup

1986 - 1987 Sail America Foundation - name: Stars & Stripes '86 - home port: San Diego, CA (USA). Sail America Foundation represents the New York Yacht Club effort to win back the America's Cup in the 1987 26th Match in Fremantle. Dennis Conner was the skipper and helmsman with no involvement in the design of the four Stars & Stripes Twelves; the design team was formed by Britton Chance, Bruce Nelson and David Pedrick; the budget was estimated at more thar $ 16,000,000 (including  more than $ 1,000,000 of sails created by North Sails and Sobstad). The training course was at Molokai Channel (Hawaii); the trial-horse was Liberty. Stars & Stripes '86 was the third of the four Twelves and she differs from the first two with a radical keel and more sail area.

< 1995 Kona Kai Resort Associates.

Since 1995 International Yacht Leasing Agency, Inc - home port: St. Marten, NA. The yacht is leased to Colin Percy at St. Marten where she is daily chartered together with Canada I, True North I, True North II, and Stars & Stripes '87. The boat is original with no engine and original hardware; the only change is a cut main and furling jib, her sails are dacron and the rod rigging has been replaced; once a year she is rigged back for a main race.

All rights reserved. No part of this Register may be reproduced in any form by any graphic, electronic or mechanical means, including photocopies, nor can any registration of information within be recorded, without the written authorization of the authors Wm. H. Dyer Jones and Luigi Lang.