Back to all yachts


Year1970 May
Current Sail NumberUS 24
International RuleThird Rule AC
Current Statusperfect conditions
Current LocationMarblehead,MA
Current CountryUS
DesignerOlin J. Stephens
Design / Project#1978
BuilderRobert E. Derecktor Yacht Yard, Inc.
Length Overall19.63 m.
Waterline14.53 m.
Beam3.66 m.
Draught2.76 m.
Displacement32.35 t.
Sail Area163 sq.m.
Original Owner12 US/24 Syndicate
Original NameVALIANT
Original CountryUS
Original HomeportNew York, NY
Original Sail NumberUS 24
Owner Details & History

.Built according to the International Third Rule America's Cup

1970 - 1972 12/US - 24 Syndicate (Robert W. McCullough) - name: Valiant - home port: New York, NY (USA). She is one of the so-called "jumbo" Twelves and the heaviest ever built; Olin Stephens considers her as the "poorest" he has ever designed; she enters the 1970 Defender Trials and she is second to Intrepid she wins the 1970 Lipton Memorial Trophy (NYYC).

1973 - 1978 Brown University - home port: Providence, RI modified by Britton Chance in order to incorporate in her hull the same "fast back."

1978 - 1989 William Edwards - home port: St. Petersburg, FL (USA). Engine installed in 1978.

1988 - 1989 Charles W. Kem - home port: Long Beach, CA (USA).

According to other information (Ken Jenkins email April 29,2016) Valiant was owned by Kern in 1980/81 and she was sailing in Marina del Rey, LA

Since 1989 Paul G. Gregory III - home port: Marblehead, MA (USA). He has done several modifications to improve successfully the yacht performances including several tests to discover why Valiant was performing better on port tack than starboard; he discovered that the lead in the ballast keel was asymmetric and its modification, and others more, improved her performance.

Jump to Twelve Metre Yacht Club, Newport Station Fleet page for Valiant

All rights reserved. No part of this Register may be reproduced in any form by any graphic, electronic or mechanical means, including photocopies, nor can any registration of information within be recorded, without the written authorization of the authors Wm. H. Dyer Jones and Luigi Lang.